Fashion in 5 w/ Jo Marsden from M&S

M&S

(M&S Style Edit).

1. I chose a career in PR because….

When I was a teenager I always said I wanted to work in fashion or PR (I actually wrote this in my National Record of Achievement!)– as it turns out you can do both. I always liked the idea of being able to combine my love of writing, working with people and organising events. It seemed like the perfect mix of everything.

2. What I love most about my job is…..

The day-to-day variety. One minute I am looking for a venue for an event, the next I’m dealing with budgets and the next day I could be having breakfast with a member of press to discuss the latest collection. Doing the same thing day in, day out would drive me insane.

3. If I could start my career again I would….

Nothing really! I started working in fashion PR while I was still studying for my degree at uni, which I think has helped fast track my career slightly. Even decisions which seemed awful at the time have probably shaped the person I am today and benefitted me in some way – even if I couldn’t see it at the time.

4. Above all else I value….

Friendliness and respect. ‘Treat others as you wish to be treated’ is something my Mum taught me and I try to live by it. More people should!

5. This year is all about….

Finding my next permanent role. I am currently freelancing and would love to settle back down into a permanent position where I can really get my feet under the table and get stuck in.

A big thank you to Jo, I totally agree- a little kindness goes a long way! x

One thought on “Fashion in 5 w/ Jo Marsden from M&S

Leave a Reply

