Fashion in 5 with Julie Deane

Fashion in 5 with Julie Deane, the women who built The Cambridge Satchel Company from her kitchen table…

The Cambridge Satchel Company

1. What’s on your wish-list at the moment?

I’m not much of a shopper, I tend to buy things that I see and instantly love. I have to be super efficient with my time and I’d rather be doing other things! The only thing I’m lusting after is for my home and that’s a traditional Welsh bed throw, very snuggly at this time of year and absolutely beautiful.

2. Describe your own personal style?

Not at all fussy – I love clean, classic design. Styles that will stand the test of time. No polo necks or high necks, no frills or pockets (I tend to sew these up)… so classic black dresses that can be transformed with accessories to suit any time of day, tailored long straight skirts, classic, classic, classic! Work tends to merge into evening events and so the more versatile the better but a good, solid base that can be layered or dressed up tend to work best for me.

3. Which trends will you be working this season?

I’m not driven by trends – I do watch the shows and some items jump out as things that fit with my style and lifestyle. The pastel shades are echoed in our summer collection but likewise the influence of Britain and my love of British brands shine through in our Harris Tweed collection. I tend to favour darker, stronger colours, but that might be because I’m ridiculously pale…

Tweed Collection

4. Tell us about your favourite dress and what you love about it?

My wedding dress – it was beaded (but not in a crazy way), with a straight elegant, full length skirt, a long train (for the big walk) which then gathered up to be almost bustle like (for the afternoon) and then the train/bustle came off entirely to transform the dress into an off the shoulder, straight, sleek evening gown for the reception that night. Perfect!

5. Your favourite under-rated brand? 

Hiut Denim Company, a fantastic brand with a wonderful story and ethos.

Thanks Julie.x

6 thoughts on “Fashion in 5 with Julie Deane

Leave a Reply

